Cape Town mayor Patricia de Lille has shaken up her mayoral committee team  a mid-term change forced by the recent elections. File photo: Henk Kruger

Cape Town mayor Patricia de Lille has shaken up her mayoral committee team  a mid-term change forced by the recent elections. File photo: Henk Kruger

Cape Town – Cape Town mayor Patricia de Lille shook up her mayoral committee team on Friday night – a mid-term change forced by the recent elections.

The vote on May 7 was for political parties’ representation in the National Assembly, National Council of Provinces and the nine provincial legislatures. But the promotion of two of De Lille’s team forced her to reassign responsibilities.

The mayoral committee members going to Parliament are human settlements head Tandeka Gqada and health head Lungiswa James, while corporate services head Demetri Qually has left to focus on heading the SA Local Government Association.

The trio’s exit came after tourism, events and marketing head Grant Pascoe switched political allegiance to the ANC – meaning four new lieutenants were required for De Lille’s top team.

The first is Johan van der Merwe, as member for economic, environment and spatial planning. De Lille said: “He has served the city council for many years and has occupied leadership positions within and without the caucus. He has served on numerous boards and was instrumental in devising a new spatial approach to the greater Tygerberg region’s urban regeneration in the formation of the Greater Tygerberg Partnership. He has most recently served as the portfolio committee chairperson of finance.”

Next comes Benedicta van Minnen as head of health.

De Lille said: “She has served the council with distinction, most recently as an outstanding member of the safety and security portfolio committee. Her activism and leadership in her ward has been a source of inspiration to other councillors and her significant analytical skills and determination will stand her in good stead in the health portfolio.

The third appointment is Xanthea Limberg as head of corporate sServices.

“She is one of the council’s outstanding young leaders,” De Lille said. “She has worked hard to make the economic, environment and spatial planning portfolio committee a success as its chairperson, and has been at the forefront of the council’s efforts to consider its approach to sustainable energy needs. She has a degree in public administration from UCT and has been politically active for almost a decade.”

The fourth member is Siyabulela Mamkeli, as head of human settlements.

De Lille said: “He has worked for the DA for numerous years, starting out as an activist. During his time in the council, he has served with distinction in numerous leadership roles. He therefore brings extensive experience of community issues and concerns to this critical portfolio.”

The other mayoral committee positions have stayed the same: transport – Brett Herron; community services – Belinda Walker; utilities – Ernest Sonnenberg; safety and security – JP Smith; social development and early childhood development – Suzette Little; and finance – Ian Neilson. Garreth Bloor moved to the post Pascoe left as head of tourism, events and marketing.