Recently appointed President Kgalema Motlanthe has appointed new members to serve on the board of the 2010 FIFA World Cup organising committee of South Africa.

The new members to the local organising committee (LOC) include Provincial and Local Government Minister Sicelo Shiceka, deputy Foreign Affairs Minister Sue van der Merwe, Deputy Safety and Security Minister Susan Shabangu, and Treasury DG Lesetja Kganyago.

The appointments followed the resignations of former Minister in the Presidency Dr Essop Pahad, former Provincial and Local Government Minister Sydney Mufamadi, and former Deputy Finance Minister Jabu Moleketi.

The South African government also welcomed the findings of the FIFA/LOC team that conducted a ten-day inspection tour of all the World Cup stadiums.

The team had indicated that South Africa was well on course to meet the FIFA deadlines.

PUBLICATION: Engineering News
AUTHOR: Esmarie Swanepoel
DATED: 13th October 2008